Desire

Today’s letter for the A to Z challenge is

D

and my letter assignment is DESIRE. Thanks Damyanti! A great assignment, because I never really thought about the concept desire in depth, I always just simply… desired. Without thinking.

😀

According to my friend Wikipedia “desire” is a sense of longing for a person or object or hoping for an outcome. The same sense is expressed by emotions such as “craving” or “hankering”. When a person desires something or someone, their sense of longing is excited by the enjoyment or the thought of the item or person, and they want to take actions to obtain their goal.

I guess I would get a lot of “likes” if I posted something about this gorgeous, jaw-dropping Mr. Muscle and my uncontrollable desire for him. Like

sexy man

or

johnny depp

But sorry. I’m being boring. I mean, not that I would send either one of them home if they showed up on my doorstep…

I think my Wikifriend is not complete here. For me, personally, desire mostly doesn’t relate to a someone or a something (those who know me, know I don’t care much about a Ferrari, iPhone or fancy dress), but rather to a somewhere. I’ve had quite some Somewhere-Desires in my life. I desired to become a dive instructor on a sea-gipsy island,

at Koh Lipe

I desired life in rasta-country,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I desired, and still desire, to travel and see the world. I desired to scuba dive for a living instead of a “real” job (because carrying 200 tanks a day and risking your life on a regular basis in not considered a real job). I desire to learn things the hard way and take the road less traveled. Luckily I have a companion.

IMG_7182

My current desires and cravings? Waterfalls and Rainforests. Uran Utangs and Bengal Tigers (I can’t believe someone wrote Life of Pi before I did). The Aurora Borealis. The Natural Life. And of course a fat Julie Mango.

mango

What are your desires?

images

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Desire”

  1. Desire, as you suggest, is more about places and people, than anything material, though we sometimes crave those little things, too. Nice post and wonderful pictures. Great choice for letter D. Don’t think I’ve seen it anywhere else on the list.
    Best,
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

Leave a Reply

