How to tape your scooter (or pro #2 of living on Statia)

After some recent adventures on one of our neighboring islands St. Maarten, I decided to make a list of 25 advantages or pros of living on Statia. In case you missed pro #1 click here to find out how to become a Frequent Flyer (or pro #1 of living on Statia).

Statia is a 21km2 island with around 4,000 inhabitants, five schools, one small airport, some bars, a bunch of churches, too many roaming animals, one medical center and bad roads. That means very bad roads. I probably shouldn’t be saying this as a policy adviser for Economy & Infrastructure, but the roads on Statia. Seriously. Suck!

The bayroad:

Bayroad

My road:

my road

As you can imagine, Mr. Brown’s garage is a busy place and Mr. Brown a busy man. If anyone that’s not familiar with the shape of the roads on Statia would look into my phone history, they’d think I have a thing for Mr. Brown. If anyone from Statia would look into my phone history, they’d notice that I live on a bumpy road.

Our Jeep Cherokee was officially declared dead last month. The shock absorbers came right through the rotten bottom plate. FUBAR* Luckily the car was already breaking down in the middle of a crossroad at least twice a week, so the loss was not too big.

crying

My scooter, my dear blue scooter, is still alive. She has always been my favorite, my everything. And living on Statia I learned to care for a scooter like I never did. For better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness or in health. So here’s my pro #2 of living on Statia: you really learn how to love and tape your scooter when she needs it most. I’ll love and cherish her ’till death do us part.

IMG_9422

IMG_9421

IMG_9440

(* Fucked Up Beyond All Recognition)

******************************************************************************

More pros of living on Statia:

How to become a Frequent Flyer (or pro #1 of living on Statia)

How & where to swim (or pro #3 of living on Statia)

Wedding Witness (or pro #4 of living on Statia)

Statia in Shape (or pro #5 of living on Statia)

Nevis Agricultural Fair (or pro #6 of living on Statia)

Vogelfestival * Bird Festival (or pro #7 of living on Statia)

9 thoughts on “How to tape your scooter (or pro #2 of living on Statia)”

Leave a Reply

