The first salute was fired…

After 2 weeks of “issues” with WordPress… I’m back!

In the meantime, I mashed up my blog by first deleting some big pictures (thought the problem was there), then deleting some posts (thought the problem was there) and then deleted the whole content (the problem wasn’t there). So here I am starting from scratch.

I decided to change the address and the name of the blog. Instead of showing you “My Planet Earth”, I now write about “Life on the Golden Rock”. Which is basically the same since my own little planet is situated on the Golden Rock.

The Golden Rock is the nickname of St. Eustatius, better known as Statia. If you’re not living on Statia or one of the neighboring islands, if you are Dutch and didn’t pay much attention during history class, you probably have no clue where I am or what Statia is all about πŸ™‚

Let me introduce Statia to you with a little videoΒ about the island’s rich history. Enjoy!

22 thoughts on “The first salute was fired…”

    1. Well, that is a good question. Worth a post. It’s an island in the Caribbean, but it is officially a part of the Netherlands. In the past it was a Dutch (& English & French) colony, but now it is a Dutch municipality. Kind of a weird situation.

      1. Hm, that would be very possible πŸ˜€ Nobody can ever find it: the postman, FedEx etc. We would be either considered “Netherlands Antilles” what we were before, or just “Netherlands”, what we actually belong to.

      2. Darn: Netherlands did not change at all. Venezuela showed up though. This is a mystery about your Island! I’m from Canada πŸ˜›

      3. Hahaha, no! Dutchie. I think I changed it to St. Kitts now, which is still the wrong island, but at least reachable by boat in 30 minutes πŸ™‚ Enjoy your meal!

Leave a Reply

